TateShots: Nigel Coates

Art which engages with the viewers is my favourite, it allows them to think on and develop new ideas around a piece of art work. To my surprise Nigel Coates feels the same way which is why i was able to so easily love his Mixtacity exhibition , which aimed to press on the growing importance of cities. His work is that of ideas and the Mixtacity piece is meant to introduce the viewer to all the new ideas and possibilities that surround architecture. I adored how the piece was made of a variety of different everyday objects as I feel it made it far more relatable to the viewer as they were easily able to connect with particular aspects of the city and really encourage people to develop their own ideas and concepts around this. When it comes to art, feel it is very important for one to culminate their own ideas and views when looking at a piece of art. I very much like the shapes , I felt they added variety and substance to the piece as well as complimenting the other mismatched objects that ultimately made the city. Overall,  I thought the work to be really unique and it didn’t fail to stir my interest towards architecture and its possibilities within the cities so many of us live.

nigel_coates

Leave a comment